Being injured in a Florida car accident is stressful enough. What if the other driver, probably the person who caused the crash, flees the scene? How will you pay those medical bills and make up for lost time at work?
According to statistics from the Florida Department for Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles, there were 341,320 traffic crashes reported statewide in 2020, resulting in 212,531 injuries and 3,343 fatalities. Distracted driving, drunk driving, speeding, reckless driving, and running traffic signals are among the leading causes of car accidents in Florida. If you were involved in a traffic accident, determining who was responsible for the car crash is important to recover financial compensation for your injuries.
A study by Martindale-Nolo Research revealed that plaintiffs who held out for a better deal received injury settlements that were, on average, $30,700 greater than claimants who accepted the insurer's first settlement offer. When personal injury victims file claims, insurance companies are required to conduct an investigation, negotiate, and settle such claims fairly and in good faith.
According to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, the state saw an average of about 1,100 vehicular accidents per day in 2019. If you’re one of the tens of thousands who suffer injuries on Florida's highways and byways each year, you may be wondering what happens once you submit your claim to your insurance company. Will you get a fair settlement? Should you accept the first offer?
Once you’re involved in an accident — injury or no injury — you’re going to have to report the event to your insurance provider. Once your insurance provider is notified, they will have an insurance adjuster call you to get the details. If you have been injured in the accident, it’s likely that the adjuster will badger you with questions in an attempt to minimize or deny your claim. You may be wondering, should you speak to them?
No one wants to think about getting injured due to someone else’s actions. Will your insurance policy cover your injuries if you get in an accident? Should someone else be held responsible for paying your medical bills? If you have mounting medical bills from an injury in the Altamonte Springs, Florida area, you’re not alone.
Any time a loved one dies, we are upset and grieve our loss. Losing someone without warning in a fatal car accident, is even more devastating. In 2020, 3,318 people died in 3,080 fatal auto crashes in Florida. Thousands of people lost their chance to say goodbye.
Distracted driving involves several causes, but the use of cellphones and handheld devices was deemed a major one, leading to new laws in 2019 prohibiting texting or manual operation of such devices while driving in Florida.
The Insurance Institute of America (IIA) ranks Florida as the third most expensive state for automobile insurance in America, with an average annual cost of $1,356.90. This may seem surprising, since Florida is a “no fault” insurance state that seeks to limit lawsuits and moderate costs for fender-benders and resulting injuries, but there is a valid reason.
If you’re involved in a vehicular accident in Florida, which occurs at a rate of about 650 each day statewide, what should you do? How do you report the incident and collect compensation for your injuries and property damages?
The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship.